PNU’s Nyambati re-elected in Kitutu

Monday November 28 2011

By NATION TEAM [email protected]

Mr Walter Nyambati of the Party of National Unity on Monday evening won the Kitutu Masaba by-election.

Mr Nyambati, who lost the seat in a petition, was leading with 11,262 votes followed by the Orange Democratic Movement’s Timothy Bosire Moseti who had 9,218.

Votes from 109 of the 111 polling centres had been tallied as at 8.15 pm. Mr Nyambati was on course to become the fourth MP in the Tenth Parliament to retain his seat in a by-election.

Trade minister Chirau Ali Mwakwere (Matuga), assistant minister Margaret Wanjiru (Starehe) and Ikoloman’s Boni Khalwale won back their seats in by-elections.

The Kitutu Masaba seat fell vacant after Mr Justus Omiti, a chief campaigner for Mr Moseti, went to court and successfully challenged Mr Nyambati’s victory in the 2007 elections.

Kenya National Congress candidate John Shadrack Mose was third with 8,074 votes while former MP Samson Okioma Mwancha of Ford Peolpe got 3,758 votes.

Others were Narc Kenya’s Mose Nyambega 3,221 votes, Zakaria Ogongo (Narc, 1,571), Henry Obwaya Onsinyo (PPK, 483), Samson Atati Kengere (KSC, 467), Alex Nyanchoga Apoko (VIPA, 477), Kenneth Nyameino (Kaddu, 344), and Dickson Mokaya Abuga (NPP, 281).

Patrick Getuba of GNU got 171 votes, Reuben Motaru Okibo (NVP 167), John Ratemo Moreka (DP, 101) and Francis Omurwa Manyibe (FPK 53).

Voting in the constituency, which has 69,050 registered voters started at 6am and ended at 5pm. The campaigns were characterised by violence and claims of vote buying by some candidates.

On Monday, five people were arrested for trying to vote twice. Returning officer Fredrick Odenge said the five would be taken to court on Tuesday.

On Sunday night former South Mugirango MP Omingo Magara was attacked and injured as he transported PNU agents to a polling centre.

Displayed maturity

At the same time, a clerk at Riamoni polling centre was replaced following claims that he had openly sided with one of the candidates during the campaigns.

Announcing the results, IEBC chairman Issack Hassan commended the candidates for displaying maturity during campaigns.

Mr Hassan added that the commission would investigate the attack against Mr Magara and allegations of voter bribery.

“We have also received reports from the ODM camp accusing the PNU of voter bribery,” Mr Hassan said at the Nairobi Safari Club on Monday night.

Meanwhile, in the hotly contested civic by-elections in Nyeri County, which prompted President Kibaki to join the campaigns, prvisional results showed that PNU and GNU had shared the seats by the time of going to press.

PNU’s Zachary Kiragu won the Karima ward seat in Othaya after garnering 1,486 and was followed closely by GNU’s George Maina Gichugi.

In Mathira, GNU’s Jackson Thagana beat PNU candidate Baldwin Kirigo to take the seat by 1,380 votes. The later scored 680 votes.

Reported by Oliver Mathenge, Henry Nyarora and Valentine Obara