Governor promises to crack whip on lazy officials

Wednesday March 18 2020

Busia Governor Sospeter Ojaamong announced a 10-member cabinet on Monday after a delay occasioned by a petition challenging his election victory.

Breaking from tradition, the executives were revealed to journalists by county communications director Winston Mbanda.

Three executives - Dr Osia Mwanje (Agriculture), Mr Lenard Obimbira (Finance) and and Mr Benard Yaite of Roads and Public Works - have been retained.

Chief officers Moses Weunda, Gilbert Oduory, Allan Omachar, Ezekiel Otieno and Richard Achiambo are also still in office while 11 have been sent packing.


The county boss earlier said he would crack the whip on lazy officers.


Mr Yaite will head the Youth, Sports, Tourism and Culture docket.

“In order to build a county that works for everyone, we need a remarkable committed, vibrant and diverse team. To realise this course, I have appointed highly motivated individuals, from diverse backgrounds and communities. They bring a wealth of experience and talent,” Mr Ojaamong said in the press release.


Mr Isaac Alukwe will be in charge of the Water, Environment and Natural Resources department while the chief officer will be Mr Weunda.

Dr Maurice Siminyu, formerly of the Health and Sanitation docket has been replaced by Mr Phaustine Barasa while the chief officer will be Mr Isaac Omeri.

The Trade, Cooperative and Industrialisation department will be headed by Ms Judith Awino while chief officers will be Mr Nelson Kwamini and Mr Stephen Nasiagi.

The Lands and Urban development docket will be under Mr Grephas Opata who will replace Mr Bernadette Muyomi. Mr Maurice Oundo will be the chief Officer.


Mr George Okwara will be in charge of the Roads, Public Works and Transport department. He will be assisted by Mr Gilbert Oduory and Ms Prisca Omoit.

Nambale Urban Primary School headteacher John Bwire has been named the Education and Vocational Training executive, replacing Azida Ali who is a nominated ward representative.

The chief officer in charge of the governor's office remains Mr Ezekiel Okwach while Mr Andrew Namunyu will be in the office of the deputy governor.

Mr Nicodemus Mulaku is still the county secretary.