Chebukati: By-elections in Kinondo and Ruguru to go ahead

Wednesday March 18 2020

IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati says the resignation of three commissioners on April 16, 2018 will not affect planned by-elections in Nyeri and Kwale counties. PHOTO | FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP


The  electoral commission has said two ward by-elections scheduled for Wednesday, 18th April, 2018 will proceed even after the resignation of its three commissioners.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission chairman Wafula Chebukati said in a statement issued at 8.00pm on Monday that presiding officers who will manage the mini-polls in  Kinondo ward in Kwale County and Ruguru in Nyeri County have been appointed and gazetted.

Mr Chebukati said the election results from the two wards will be declared by the gazetted presiding officers and gazetted by the chairman.

IEBC communication manager Andrew Limo said that the training of officials who will conduct the by-elections was completed on Monday, setting stage for the exercise.

“We have concluded the training of clerks who will conduct the two by-elections in Kinondo and Ruguru wards,” Mr Limo said.

The resignation of the three commissioners on Monday was seen as having crippled the IEBC as it cannot make key decisions due to lack of quorum of five after the High Court judge quashed the law passed in Parliament last year that reduced the quorum to three.

Now politicians led by the Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen and Senate Minority Leader James Orengo  are calling on Mr Chebukati and the remaining commissioners, Prof Abdi Guliye and Mr Boya Molu, to also resign to pave way for the reconstitution of the commission.

On Monday commissioners Ms Connnie Nkatha (vice chairperson), Dr Paul Kurgat and Ms Margaret Mwachanya resigned.