Jubilee pointmen fail to deliver as voters keep off poll in Vihiga

Friday October 27 2017

Moses Akaranga and William Ruto

From left: Former Vihiga Governor Moses Akaranga, Deputy President William Ruto and former Vihiga MP Yusuf Chanzu when the DP visited Mr Chanzu's home on October 4, 2017. The Jubilee point men in Vihiga failed to deliver the numbers after most voters chose to boycott the poll. PHOTO | CHARLES KIMANI | DPPS 


Only one person turned out to vote at Mululu Primary School polling station in Vihiga County during Thursday's poll.

ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi, a principal in the opposition National Super Alliance (Nasa), is a registered voter at the station that has 508 registered voters.

The results declared on Friday morning by Sabatia Constituency Returning Officer Mark Owiso showed the sole vote went to President Uhuru Kenyatta.

At Munugi Primary School polling station where former governor and Jubilee point man in Sabatia Moses Akaranga voted, President Kenyatta garnered 118 votes while Mr Odinga got two votes.

The polling station has has 801 registered voters but only 120 turned out to vote.


In another sign that the Jubilee point men failed to deliver the numbers they promised, only 70 people participated in the poll at Matsigulu polling station which has 1,148 registered voters.

This is also the polling station of former Vihiga legislator Yusuf Chanzu.

Out of the 70 who cast their votes, President Kenyatta garnered 65 votes while Mr Odinga got four votes.

Presidential candidate Joseph Nyagah got one vote.

It is at Matsigulu polling station where Deputy President William Ruto campaigned as he sought votes for the ruling party.