Vihiga MCAs rejects 3 chief officer nominees - Daily Nation
Breaking News

Vihiga Assembly rejects 3 'unqualified' chief officer nominees

Wednesday March 14 2018

Wilbur Ottichilo.

Vihiga Governor Wilbur Ottichilo during his swearing-in on August 21, 2017. PHOTO | FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

Vihiga County Assembly on Wednesday rejected three of Governor Wilbur Ottichilo’s nominees for chief officer as they performed poorly during interviews, scoring below 50 percent.

The Assembly approved four chief officers.


The assembly rejected Ms Naomi Esiaba for the Youth docket as she got 33 per cent, Jerry Kugo (Cooperatives, 25.9 per cent) and Pamela Kusa (Agriculture, 45.2 per cent).

A last minute amendment by Majority Whip Victor Ijaika saved the ECDE nominee, Ms Mary Anyiendah, whom the Education Committee had also recommended for rejection.

The committee said Ms Anyiendah lacked relevant academic qualifications in ECDE despite her high achievement in this area.

Mr Ijaika said this explanation was awkward and proposed the amendment that was unanimously supported by the 38 members.


MCAs cited Ms Esiaba’s age – 60 years – as another reason for rejecting her for the Youth docket. They argued she would not fit in.

The Committee on Youth also found that Ms Esiaba, currently a member of the county public service board, lacks the necessary experience and competence to handle the position that largely deals with the youth.

Further, MCAs were aggrieved that Ms Esiaba participated in the board’s activities during the process of selecting nominees, including interviewing candidates.

"She did not declare her interest when she applied for the position. She is a member of the board that advertised, interviewed and shortlisted candidates. She should have stepped aside," reads the report approved by the assembly.


Four nominees were approved and their names forwarded to Governor Ottichilo for swearing in.

They are Mr Chrysostom Agava (Water), Engineer Roger Tunya (Transport and Infrastructure), Dr Arnold Mamadi (Medical Services) and Ms Lucy Ijai (Lands).

Ms Ijai worked under former governor Moses Akaranga as the Health chief officer.

Deliberations on the vetting of seven more nominees are ongoing.