South Sudan's Kiir picks governors for eight States

Tuesday June 30 2020
kiir pix

South Sudanese President Salva Kiir arrives for talks at the African Union in Addis Ababa on February 8, 2020. PHOTO | MICHAEL TEWELDE | AFP


South Sudanese President Salva Kiir Mayardiit Monday night named governors for eight States after a long deadlock over the apportionment.  

Jonglei and Upper Nile are the only States left without governors appointed via presidential order. He did not give a reason for the move.

However, weeks ago, the South Sudan Opposition Alliance -- a party to the peace accord -- rejected Jonglei State saying the party's initial demand was Upper Nile. 

In the presidential decree read on State-run TV SSBC on Monday, the president re-appointed Luis Labong as the Governor of Eastern Equatoria State. 

Mr Labong has served in the position since his appointment in 2010.

He was recently accused of embezzlement of State minerals in a corruption dossier published by US watchdog group Sentry. 


READ: Report accuses Gideon Moi of making money off war-ravaged S. Sudan

Mr Kiir has also appointed Emmanuel Adhil the Governor of Central Equatoria State. He previously served as Governor of the defunct Yei River State.
He further appointed Joseph Monytuil the governor of Unity State. He previously served as Governor of the former Northern Liech State.

Other appointees are Makur Kulang (Lakes State), Bona Panek (Warrap State), and Tong Aken Ngor (Northern Bhar-el-Ghazal).

Sarah Cleto Rial, the only female Governor, has been assigned to head Ghar-el-Ghazal while Alfred Futio, SPLM-IO sector commander, was appointed Governor for Western Equatoria State.


President Kiir appointed Kuol Diem Kuol the Chief administrator for the disputed Abyei Area, Joshua Konyi as the head of Pibor Administrative Area and William Chol to Reweng Administrative Area. 

According to the 2018 peace deal, the government will fully be established when parliament is constituted.