CS Magoha appoints new chairpersons of 3 varsity councils

Friday April 26 2019

Education Cabinet Secretary George Magoha. PHOTO | FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP


Education Cabinet Secretary George Magoha has appointed three new chairpersons of university councils.

In a gazette notice dated April 24, Dr Magoha named Dr Jane Musangi Mutua as the new chairperson of Masinde Muliro University Council.

Dr Swabah Ahmed Omar and Dr Jeremy Bundi were appointed chairpersons the council of South Eastern Kenya University and Pwani University, respectively.

Dr Mutua will serve at Masinde Muliro for a period of 11 months.

Her term began on April 24 and ends on March 9 next year.

Dr Mutua has been the head of Pwani University council and the latest appointment means she is swapping places with Dr Bundi.


Dr Omar will chair the council for the South Eastern Kenya University for a period of three years with effect from April 24.

He replaces Dr Reuben Kipkemoi Chirchir whose appointment has been revoked.

Council chairpersons are usually appointed based on their experience as members.

In the notice, Dr Magoha, also appointed Mr Kariuki Muchemi as a member of the council for University of Nairobi for a period of three years.

Consequently, the appointment of Wanjuki Muchemi as a council member for the University of Nairobi has been revoked.

Mr Ahmed Mohamed Diriye has also been appointed as the council member for Masinde Muliro University for a period of three years.

He has replaced Mr Kosiom Frank Ole Kimbelekenya whose appointment has been revoked.

Ms Elizabeth Limagur has been appointed as the council member for the Turkana University College for a period of three years.

The CS further revoked the appointment of Mr Mele Eroo Joseph who had been a council member at the university.

For the Technical and Vocational Education and Training Act (Tveta), Dr Magoha has appointed Ms Joan Machayo, Kenya Private schools association chairperson Ms Mutheu Kasanga, Mr Patrick Mutai and Mr Patric Obath to be the members of the selected panel for Tvet funding Board.