Anne Waiguru and Hassan Joho receive top Jamhuri Day awards

Wednesday December 12 2018

From left: Governors Alfred Mutua (Machakos), Hassan Ali Joho (Mombasa) and Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga). PHOTOS | FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP


Ten governors, Kenya’s top public prosecutor Noordin Haji and top crime buster George Kinoti are among hundreds of recipients of presidential awards and honours as the country marks 55th independence day.

Also in the list of the Jamhuri Day roll of honours and awards is ODM party chairman John Mbadi who joins the governors in the list of those conferred with Elder of the Order of the Golden Heart (EGH) Second Class.

The awards are “in recognition of distinguished and outstanding services rendered to the nation in various capacities and responsibilities”, according to the gazette notice dated December 11, 2018.

The governors who have been honoured with EGH second class are Ali Joho (Mombasa), Martin Wambora (Embu), Samuel Tunai (Narok), Cornel Rasanga (Siaya), Josphat Nanok (Turkana), Alex Tolgos (Elgeyo Marakwet), Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Dr Alfred Mutua (Machakos),  Dr Joyce Laboso (Bomet) and Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga).

Mr Haji, the Director of Public Prosecutions, and Mr Kinoti, the Director of Criminal Investigations, have been awarded Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (CBS) First Class.