'Ingwe' patron Musalia pledges further support

Friday July 03 2020

ANC party leader and AFC Leopards patron Musalia Mudavadi (front row, centre) after meeting with club legends at his home in Riverside, Nairobi on July 2, 2020. PHOTO | POOL


Former AFC Leopards players popularly referred to us 'Ingwe' legends have lauded Amani National Congress Party leader Musalia Mudavadi for supporting the club.

While pledging to continue supporting the current AFC Leopards management to help the club reclaim its glory, the former players called on other well-wishers to come on board.

Over 25 legends who paid a courtesy call to the ANC boss at his Musalia Mudavadi Centre led by Josephat Murila deliberated on issues touching on capacity building as well as finance to cater for players welfare.

Musalia, who is also the club patron, agreed to partner with the team moving forward saying that 'Ingwe' is one of the biggest clubs in the region.

“I am ready to partner with AFC Leopards moving forward. I remember when I first became patron of the club, our players were very committed to the club, a virtue that we continue to cultivate amongst our players and also supporters,” said Musalia who was flanked by his party chairman Kelvin Lunani.

AFC Leopards chairman, Dan Shikanda thanked Musalia for his support and gave an update of the Sh633,000 offered to the club last month.


'Ingwe' were given the money to facilitate the process of the team reclaiming their 20-acre piece of land adjacent to Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani which was donated to the club by the late Retired President Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi in 1992.

The former Ingwe players hosted by Musalia were Murila, Shikanda, Aggrey Lukoye, Nahashon Bushuru, Mickey “T9” Weche, Mike Amwayi, Reginald Asibwa, George Sunguti, Robert Matano, Patrick Shilasi, Benard Musuku, Peter Lichungu, John “Shoto” Lukoye, Ezekiel Akwana, Zablon Amanaka, Nicholas Muyoti, Maurice Khayota, Maurice Sunguti, Gilbert Olumasai, Kevin Wandera, Patrick Shim, Shabani Omar, Washington Kamadi, Oscar Kadenge and Charles Okwemba.