Handicap 18 player Wahome wins Ruiru Captain’s Prize

Tuesday March 14 2017

Susan Kanyora receives her lady winner prize during a past Nation Media Group classic golf finale at Muthaiga Golf Club. PHOTO | FILE |


Handicap 18 golfer Joseph Wahome defied a tough course and challenging pin positions to top the winners list during the Captain’s Prize tournament sponsored by Empire Realtors at Ruiru Sports Club.

Wahome started off with a 16 points in the first nine which included two double bogeys and seven single bogeys. He however made a couple of pars at the back nine where he also double-bogeyed two holes and dropped single shots over five holes for 18 and a total of 34 points. This was the lowest scores returned at Ruiru in recent years.

He beat men’s winner Joseph Mugo, also playing off handicap 18, who posted 18 and 16, with John Gitau and Henry Mwaura finishing second and third on 33 points each.

As predicted, handicap 10 Susan Kanyora clinched the ladies title with a score of  32 points which was four points better than Margaret Kamau. Petty Kigwe was third on 27 as Dorcas Njogu on 23 was the best lady guest while the men’s guest winner was Patrick Wahome on 31 points. The nines went to James Kinga (18) and Gichuhi Waweru (16).

At Nakuru Golf Club, Philip Gathii, playing off handicap 20, carded 18 and 24 for a total of 42 to beat a field of130 golfers during the Governor’s Trophy sponsored by Nakuru County Governor Kinuthia Mbugua.

Njoro’s  J G Mokaya was second on 40 points after a countback with Kirti Morjaria.


The men’s prize went to Brigadier M.M Macharia on 39 points and the ladies prize went to Susan Ikua 39 while John Kamais won the gross on 35 points.


Nandi bears captain E. Mutai was the guest winner on 37. The Junior winner was Daniel Kiragu with 36 while the nines went to Hassan Ali Nanu on 23 and Karori Kahuthu with 22 points.

At Sigona, Hemal Pindolia carded 40 points to win the fifth leg of the Johnnie Walker series, winning by a point from S. Neer who beat A. Matharu on countback with 39 points.

In fourth place was Nitin Shah on 38 points also after a countback with E. Muthiga. The ladies prize went to D. Nabukenya with 38 points, one better than P. Rima. Rachel Ndei on 34 points was thiird. In the guests category, A Gitonga posted 38 points to beat J Kagigiti by a point.

The nines went to Haren Patel on  21 and Francis Owino who also carded 21 points.


At Thika Sports Club; Medal No.3 Golf; Silver Mary Wainaina 80, Bronze Mariah Muthee 73, Lynda Kinyua 75, Lucy Gitonga 75, Millicent Kimathi 76, Gross Jacqueline Kungu 98, Men  K Njoroge 70, Jessie Kariuki 71, Paul K Waweru 72.

At Nyeri; Nyeri Coffee Farmers' golf day; men winner Jacob Kamere  38(20,18) Moses Murimi 37, lady winner Jane Munyori 40(20,20), Mercy Mburu 32,  Gross Stella Mwangi 83 gross, Guest Nderitu Kamugi 39. Nines; Fr. P. Wangai 18, Nishit Desai 18.

At Kitale Golf Club; Kenya Seed Golf Day; Overall Winner; Dickson Masindano 147 (77, 70) Tom Atuma (Nandi) 148 (70, 78) Phillip Shiharsy 151(75, 76), Harun Ndegwa 152, Hillary K. Rotich 152, Eliud Weche 152, Phyllis Kisuna 154, Anthony Lubano 155. Guest Winner Dr. Walubengo 170, Staff Winner - Fred Oloibe 165 nett.