KRU name Shujaa, Morans squads for Safari Sevens

Wednesday November 07 2018

Eden Agero (right) of Kenya fights for the ball with Filipe del Mestre of Argentina during day one of Singapore Rugby Sevens tournament on April 15, 2017. PHOTO | ROSLAN RAHMAN |


The Kenya Rugby Union on Wednesday named the players that will make up the Shujaa and Morans squads that will feature in the Safari Sevens at the RFUEA ground this weekend.

The Union confirmed both teams will be under the tutelage of Kenya Sevens head coach Paul Murunga and his assistant Kevin Wambua while Lamech Bogonko remains the physio.

Eden Agero (Shujaa) and Samuel Motari (Morans) will skipper their respective sides.

Agero, the Kenya Harlequin player, will be assisted by Michael Wanjala from Homeboyz as Shujaa seek their ninth title.

Other players with World Rugby Sevens Series experience in the Shujaa side are Dennis Ombachi, Charles Omondi, Cyprian Kuto, Alvin Otieno and Leonard Mugaisi.

Other than Motari, the other player with World Rugby experience in the Morans team is Eric Ombasa, who made his international debut last season.


Shujaa: Eden Agero, Michael Wanjala, Herman Humwa, Alvin Otieno, Harold Anduvate, Johnstone Olindi, Daniel Taabu, Mark Wandetto, Charles Omondi, Dennis Ombachi, Cyprian Kuto and Leonard Mugaisi.

Morans: Samuel Motari, Brian Wahinya,Eliakim Kichoi, Timothy Mmasi, Brian Wandera, Mark Kwemoi, Gregory Ochieng, Shaddon Munoko, Paul Mutsami, Ronnie Omondi, Vincent Onyala and Eric Ombasa.