NMG targets local talent with new record label

Wednesday March 18 2020

Nation Media Group acting Chief Executive Officer Stephen Gitagama speaks during an investors' briefing on the 2017 full-year financial results at Stanley Hotel, Nairobi, on April 18, 2018. The company has launched a music label. PHOTO | SALATON NJAU | NATION MEDIA GROUP


The Nation Media Group (NMG) has launched the Lit Music record label that will focus on establishing a music enterprise in Kenya.

The record label is an enterprise that will scout for talent and help new artistes, manage their brands and trademarks, coordinate the production, manufacture, distribution, marketing and promotion of the Kenyan music talent.

The label is set to revolutionise the industry by using a unique model that offers artistes free recording, distribution, promotion and guidance.

“We are excited about this new venture. We believe through the new record label we will create something unique and fresh for the local artistes and make it easier for them to commercialise their talent,” NMG acting Chief Executive Officer Stephen Gitagama said.

He added: “This record label is also an initiative by NMG to support the music industry in Kenya and find ways to make it efficient for local artistes to have transparency on revenues earned through various platforms.

"I am delighted that we have received very good response from a number of artistes who have already signed up with Lit Music. This is part of our new revenue streams.”

Lit Music will promote local music talent across broadcasting, print and digital platforms.


The Lit360 lifestyle TV show, to air every Thursday on NTV at 10pm, will feature local and international artistes, latest fashion trends and events around Kenya.

The show will also debut the various artistes signed under the Lit Music record label.

Listeners will be able to access the music through the Lit Music website (www.lit360.co.ke), Songa Music App, YouTube, iTunes and Boomplay among others.

Some of the artistes signed under Lit Music include Gloria Muliro, Jimmy Gait, Mwenye Haki, Redemption, Rachel Adiyo, and Hellena Ken.