Isaac Okero is new LSK president after winning elections

Friday February 26 2016

Lawyers cast their votes on February 25, 2016  at Milimani High Court, Nairobi. PHOTO | JEFF ANGOTE | NATION MEDIA GROUP.

Lawyers cast their votes on February 25, 2016 at the Milimani High Court in Nairobi to elect new LSK officials. PHOTO | JEFF ANGOTE | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

Mr Isaac Okero is the new president of the Law Society of Kenya and is expected to bring a breath of fresh air to a society riddled with in-fighting.

In a hotly contested race, Mr Okero emerged the winner after garnering 1,581 votes, against Mr James Aggrey Mwamu's 1,378 and Mr Allen Waiyaki Gichuhi's 1,371.

Mr Okero is the managing partner at Behan & Okero and has been practising law for the past 23 years and has been a member of the bar for 26 years.

The Kisumu-based lawyer previously served as LSK's chairman for the western Kenya branch between 1999 and 2001.

The more than 7,000 advocates turned up in large numbers to vote for their representatives in the election that was conducted by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

Mr Okero was a member of the "Okoa LSK" group that sought to bring changes to the law society.


He was popular among the young advocates or "junior counsels" who wanted changes in how the LSK is run.

The young counsels — who form the majority of the advocates who voted — are said to have voted overwhelmingly for Mr Okero.

Last year alone, Chief Justice Willy Mutunga admitted 2,500 young advocates to the bar.

Ms Faith Waigwa, also a principal of Okoa LSK, was voted in as LSK’s vice-president. She garnered a total of 2,601 votes, trouncing Ms Jennifer Shamalla, who got 1,514 votes.

Ms Waigwa is one of the founding partners and the managing partner heading the Property Law & Conveying Department of Nungo Oduor & Waigwa Advocates.

She is a former chairman of the Kenya National Adoption Committee.

Ms Waigwa has also worked with USAid Kenya to provide legal services and support to the National Youth Bunge Association.

Ms Mercy Mwarah Deche is the Judicial Service Commission representative, with 1,271 votes against Ms Marykaren Kigeni’s 902 and Ms Jane Njeri’s 854 votes.

The IEBC is yet to announce the rest of the results for the positions of council members, Nairobi branch representatives and representative to the disciplinary tribunals and upcountry representatives.