Chacha Mwita, Weldon Korir among 5 judges moved by CJ Maraga

Monday February 04 2019

Chief Justice David Maraga on Monday announced the transfer of five judges including Chacha Mwita, who has left the Constitutional and Human Rights Division for the Kajiado High Court, where he will be Presiding Judge.

The others who have been moved, effective March 1, are as follows:

  1. Wilfrida Okwany - from Constitutional and Human Rights Division to Commercial and Tax Division
  2. James Aaron Makau - from Commercial and Tax Division to the Constitutional and Human Rights Division
  3. Weldon Korir - from Malindi High Court to the Constitutional and Human Rights Division.
  4. Reuben Nyakundi - from the Kajiado High Court where he was the Presiding Judge to the Malindi High Court where he will hold the same position.

Justice Korir will replace Justice Mwita while Mr Nyakundi will replace Mr Korir and Judge Makau will swap places with Justice Okwany.

The Constitutional division of the High Court is one of the crucial ones as it deals matters regarding interpretation and implementation of the bill of rights.

Parties aggrieved by decisions of the government rush to this division and obtain orders, citing infringement or threats of infringement of their rights.


Among persons who have obtained orders stopping their intended trial are Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu and Judicial Service Commission (JSC) commissioner Prof Tom Ojienda.