alexa Matiang'i upgrades eight technical institutes to national polytechnics - Daily Nation

Matiang'i upgrades eight technical institutes to national polytechnics

Friday February 19 2016

Fred Matiang'i

Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'i. PHOTO | FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

The Ministry of Education on Thursday upgraded eight technical training institutes to national polytechnics, bringing the number to 10 in the country.

The technical institutes upgraded include: Kabete, Kitale, Meru, Mombasa, Nyeri, Sigalala, North Eastern Province and Gusii.

Since the elevation of Kenya and Mombasa Polytechnics into technical universities few years ago, Kenya has had only two national polytechnics namely, Kisumu and Eldoret.

“The ultimate goal is to establish one national polytechnic in each of the 47 counties .The institutions will have the capacity to offer degrees in collaboration with established universities, diplomas, and higher diplomas,” said the Education CS Matiang’i in a statement.



Dr Matiang’i said the upgrade is in line with Vision 2030 goals to strengthen capacity in technical skills needed in today’s knowledge economy.

“The elevation of the eight is in line with government overarching objectives to develop an effectively coordinated and harmonized TVET | Technical Vocational Education and Training | system that is capable of producing quality skilled human resource with the right skills, attitudes and values required for  growth  and prosperity of the various sectors  of the economy,” said  Dr Matiang’i.

The Cabinet Secretary disclosed that the government is in the process of increasing technical institutes from the current 48 to 187.

“The objective is to create the appropriate international recognised ratio between engineers , technicians and operators as the appropriate skills base that modern industrial and  knowledge economy needs,” said Dr Matiang’i in the statement.