Kimemia, Kosgey picked for civil service jobs

Friday March 18 2016

Former Secretary to the Cabinet Francis Kimemia

Former Secretary to the Cabinet Francis Kimemia speaking to the press at the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission offices in Nairobi on April 9, 2015. Mr Kimemia has returned to the civil service as the chairman of the Industrial and Commercial Development Corporation. FILE PHOTO | BILLY MUTAI | NATION MEDIA GROUP

More by this Author

Former Secretary to the Cabinet Francis Kimemia has made a comeback to the civil service as the chairman of the Industrial and Commercial Development Corporation (ICDC).

Also making their way back into public service are former minister Henry Kosgey as chairman of the Tourism Fund and former Police Commissioner Major-General (Rtd) Mohammed Hussein Ali, who will chair the NGOs Coordination Board.

Businessman Chris Kirubi, also known as DJ CK, has been appointed the non-executive chairman of the Brand Kenya Board.

The appointments were made via the Kenya Gazette published on Friday morning and take effect immediately.

Martin Kariuki Muragu was kicked out to make way for Mr Kimemia.

Mr Kimemia left his last posting as secretary to the Cabinet after being named on the list of public servants under investigation over corruption allegations. He was cleared but not reinstated and the position remains vacant.

The former Internal Security permanent secretary was understood to have taken to politics and explored the idea of contesting the Nakuru governor's seat in the 2017 General Election and reportedly later settled for Nyandarua, where he has been making inroads.

Mr Kosgey was the chairman of the Orange Democratic Movement, under which he contested the Nandi senator’s seat, which he lost. He has since hinted at making a comeback to politics.

Other appointments for board chairmen announced in the Kenya Gazette include:

  • Millicent Ogutu to the Kenya Copyright Board
  • Jas Bedi to the Export Promotion Council
  • Simon Kitambaa to the National Council for Population and Development,
  • Rehema Jaldesa to the Kenya Industrial Estates
  • Mark Bor to be non-executive chairman of Kenyatta National Hospital
  • Joshua Nyamweya Oigara to the the Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Jackson Selela Ole Mwanik to the Ewaso Ngiro South Development Authority
  • Paul Tergat to the Kenya Academy of Sports Council
  • Francis Baya to the Kenya Literature Bureau
  • Jimmy Kariuki to the Kenya Tourism Board
  • Francis Kuria Gatonye to the Pest Control Products Board
  • Betty Addero Radier to the Board of Tourism Research Institute.