ODM ignores order against reorganising committees

Friday October 12 2018

National Assembly Minority Leader John Mbadi

National Assembly Minority Leader John Mbadi. He has endorsed the reorganisation of House committees. PHOTO | FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author
More by this Author

The National Assembly on Thursday ignored an order from the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal and approved a reorganisation of the National Super Alliance membership to departmental committees.

Amani National Congress moved to the tribunal and obtained orders barring the House from debating and adopting changes to the membership of the committees as proposed by Minority Whip Junet Mohamed last week.

“That injunction ... is hereby issued restraining the respondents (ODM and Nasa) from presenting to the Speaker ... any list of opposition members to be withdrawn from their committee roles,” tribunal chairman Kyalo Mbobu said and set the hearing for Friday next week.


First to fall in the Senate was ANC’s Petronila Were, who was replaced as deputy chief whip by Ms Beatrice Kwamboka of ODM.

The House was told that 17 senators met on September 20 in Minority Leader James Orengo’s office and resolved to drop Ms Were.

Mr Orengo said the decision was not easy because Ms Were "distinguished herself in coalition matters".

Sources say the removal of Ms Were is the ripple effect of events early in the year when Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang'ula was dropped as minority leader. Mr Wetang'ula was replaced by Mr Orengo.

Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala (ANC) became the deputy minority leader.


In the National Assembly, Majority Leader Aden Duale and his minority counterpart John Mbadi accused ANC Secretary-General Barack Muluka of interfering with the business of Parliament.

“The tribunal wants to direct this House on how to do its work. Before Muluka goes to the tribunal, he must win a political seat,” Mr Duale said.

Mr Mbadi said the changes are meant to harmonise operations of the House "since some members were in multiple committees while others were in none".

“If it was punishment, Homa Bay Senator TJ Kajwang would have been removed,” he said.

“Butere MP Tindi Mwale is in the PIC and Energy committees. He can relinquish one but it should also be clear that members do not decide which committee to sit in.”