President Kenyatta reshuffles cabinet, expands state departments

Tuesday November 24 2015

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday reshuffled his cabinet announcing that the changes were necessary for effective service delivery.

He expanded the number of Cabinet Secretaries from 19 to 20. The new cabinet only has five women, falling short of the constitutional requirement that states that women must make up 33 per cent of all elective and nominative positions.

He modelled the changes to fulfill four key objectives: Enhance efficiency of public officers through fast-tracking adoption of technology; Ensure accountability of public officials in discharge of duties, giving more power to accounting officers to have oversight of public expenditure; guarantee accessibility of public officers by reducing size of dockets and review effectiveness of government projects, such that only those projects with direct social economic impacts to the citizens make it through.

In the same vein, the president announced the expansion of state departments from 26 to 41.

“Anti-corruption measures will be implemented through state departments which are headed by Principal Secretaries. A key initiative will be the complete overhaul of procurement departments,” said President Kenyatta.

He also announced that the office of the President will be re-organised and the changes announced in the next two weeks.


The president asked the National Assembly to fast-track the vetting of CSs and PSs to ensure that those nominated to the positions are able to take up the positions as soon as possible.

A good number of the new names in the Principal Secretary dockets are former bosses in the private sector, signaling a major shift from hiring politicians to having corporate bosses on board.

Some of the former CEOs that have been awarded state department dockets include Zeinab Hussein who was the former head of Human Resources at McKinsey, and Chris Kiptoo, former CEO at Trade Mark East Africa.

Other notable figures include Sammy Itemere, former Kenya Commercial Bank Sudan CEO and Paul Maringa Mwangi, who was Rwandan President Paul Kagame’s advisor on large Infrastructure.


  1. Mining - Dan Kazungu
  2. Environment - Prof Judy W Wakhungu
  3. Devolution & Planning - Mwangi Kiunjuri
  4. Water & Irrigation - Eugene Wamalwa
  5. Finance – National Treasury - Henry K Rotich
  6. Sports Arts & Culture - Dr Hassan Wario Arero
  7. Education - Dr Fred Okengo Matiangi
  8. Transport & Infrastructure - James Macharia
  9. Agriculture - Willy Bett
  10. Interior - Gen (Rtd) Joseph K Nkaissery
  11. Foreign Affairs - Amb Amina Mohamed
  12. Public Service Youth & Gender Affairs - Sicily Kanini Kariuki
  13. Tourism - Najib Balala
  14. Energy & Petroleum - Charles Keter
  15. Health - Dr Cleopa Kilonzo Mailu
  16. Labour & EAC Affairs - Phylis J K Kandie
  17. Defence - Amb Dr Raychelle Awuor Omamo
  18. Lands - Prof Jacob T Kaimenyi
  19. Industrialization - Adan Mohamed
  20. ICT - Joe Mucheru
  21. Attorney General - Prof Dr Githu Muigai


  1. Agriculture- Richard Lesiyampe
  2. Arts, Culture - Joe Okudo
  3. Basic Education - Dr Belio Kipsang
  4. Broadcasting & Telecommunications - Sammy Itemere
  5. Cooperatives - Ali Noor Ismail
  6. Correctional Services - Micah Powon
  7. Defence - Amb Peter K Kaberia
  8. Devolution - Mwanamaka Mabruki
  9. EAC Integration - Betty Chemutai Maina
  10. Energy - Eng Joseph Njoroge
  11. Environment - Charles Sunkuli
  12. Fisheries - Prof Ntiba Micheni
  13. Interior - Eng Karanja Kibicho
  14. Youth and Public Service - Lilian Omollo
  15. Health - Nicholas Muraguri
  16. Housing & Urban Development - Aidah Munano
  17. ICT & Innovation - Victor Kyalo
  18. Industry & Enterprise Development - Julius Korir
  19. Infrastructure - John Musonik
  20. Foreign - Dr Amb Monica Juma
  21. International Trade - Dr Chris Kiptoo
  22. Irrigation - Patrick Nduati Mwangi
  23. Labour - Khadija Kassachoom
  24. Lands - Mariam El Maawy
  25. Livestock - Dr Andrew K Tuimur
  26. Maritime Commerce - Nancy Karigithu
  27. Mining - Dr Mohammed Ibrahim Mahmud
  28. National Treasury - Kamau Thugge
  29. National Water Services - Fred Sigor
  30. Natural Resources - Dr Margaret Mwakima
  31. Petroleum - Andrew Kamau Nganga
  32. Planning & Statistics - Saitoti Torome
  33. Public Works - Dr Paul Maringa Mwangi
  34. Social Security & Services - Susan Mochache
  35. Special Programmes - Josepheta Mukobe
  36. Sports Development - Richard Ekai
  37. Tourism - Fatuma Hersi
  38. Transport - Wilson Nyakera Irungu
  39. University (Higher) Education - Prof Colleta Suda
  40. Vocational & Technical Training - Dr Dinah Jerotich Mwinzi
  41. Gender Affairs - Zeinab W Hussein