alexa Ugandan Cabinet approves creation of nine cities - Daily Nation

Ugandan Cabinet approves creation of nine cities

Tuesday May 21 2019

Fort Portal Uganda

A section of Fort Portal, one of the municipalities in Uganda that will become a city in July 2020. PHOTO | COURTESY | DAILY MONITOR 


The Ugandan Cabinet has approved the creation of nine cities, five of which will become operational on July 1, 2020.

The cities include Arua, Gulu, Jinja, Fort Portal, and Mbarara, which will be elevated from municipal to city status by that date.

Hoima and Mbale will become cities in July 2021.

The move is part of a government plan to turn nine municipalities into regional cities.

Fort Portal, Mbarara and Hoima will be regional cities in western Uganda;  Entebbe in the central region; Lira, Arua and Gulu in the northern region, and Mbale and Jinja cities in the eastern region.



According to Local Government minister Tom Butime, the Cabinet meeting chaired by President Yoweri Museveni in Entebbe on Monday resolved that the municipalities be elevated in phases.

The President said a budget of Sh130 billion will be set aside for the operationalisation of the cities after all requirements are met.

In February, a technical team led by Mr Justinian Niwagaba, the Commissioner of Urban Administration in the Local Government ministry, said all regional cities will have two divisions. 

Speaking in Fort Portal, Mr Niwagaba said each division and city will have a member of Parliament.