UoN elects new student leaders - Daily Nation

Manyara Muchui elected UoN students association chairman

Sunday April 15 2018

University election

The University of Nairobi. Mr Manyara Muchui has been elected chairman University of Nairobi Students Association. FILE PHOTO | JEFF ANGOTE | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

Mr Manyara Muchui has been elected University of Nairobi Students Association chairman.

He was elected alongside Ombewa Peter (secretary-general) and Ms Njiru Laureen Kanana (treasurer) on Friday.  

The university’s Independent Electoral Commission Chairman M.A Jama also declared Ms Rebecca Orare as vice-chairman, Kalapa Mukupo (International student’s representative).

Stephen Sergon will represent students with special needs, while Dennis Museti will be in charge of sports and social welfare.

Prof Jama said the election was conducted in compliance with the association’s 2017 constitution.

The election attracted four camps that were led by Daphine Githuku, Abdi Jamal Adan, Job Omondi Otieno and Mr Muchui.


According to the Act, the students’ association is to be governed by a students’ council comprising a chairperson and a vice-chairperson, who must be of opposite gender, a treasurer, a secretary-general who is the secretary to the council, and three other members to represent special interests of students.

Those elected in leadership positions must reflect national diversity; and must not have more than two-thirds of its members being of the same gender.


The students association must constitute itself into electoral colleges based on either academic departments, schools or faculties.

 “The students of each electoral college, constituted under subsection (1c) shall elect three representatives from amongst persons who are not candidates under subsection (1a); and of whom not more than two-thirds shall be of the same gender.

"The representatives of each electoral college shall elect the members of the student council within 30 days of the election under subsection (1d),” the Act says.

A member of the student council is required to hold office for a term of one year and may be eligible for re-election for one final term.