alexa Uhuru appoints Zetech don to head TSC selection panel - Daily Nation

Uhuru appoints Zetech don to head TSC selection panel

Friday September 20 2019

Prof John Munene

Prof John Munene who has been appointed to chair a nine-member panel which will select candidates to replace three TSC commissioners who have retired. PHOTO | FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

The replacement of three commissioners at the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has officially kicked off after President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed a selection panel.

The nine-member panel will be chaired by Zetech University Vice Chancellor Prof John Munene.

Other members of the selection panel are Solicitor General Kennedy Ogeto, Prof Nura Mohamed, Hellen Ambasa, Francis Nganga, Dr Margaret Kirai, Peter Ndoro of the Kenya Private Schools Association and Mount Kenya University Vice-chancellor Stanley Waudo.


Commissioners Cleophas Tirop, Salome Gichura and Saadia Abdi Kontoma exited the TSC after their six-year term ended this year.

All commissioners serve for a six-year non-renewable term.


The term of the commission’s secretary and Chief Executive Officer Nancy Macharia will also end next year.

She will, however, still be eligible for a second term of five years.


TSC currently has six commissioners. They are Lydia Nzomo, Beatrice Adu, Mbarak Twahir, Kinoti Imanyara, Tache Gollo and Albert Ekirapa.

Mr Tirop, who was appointed in April 2013, retired earlier this year while Gichura and Kontoma left last month.

Section 8(1) of the TSC Act requires that a vacancy that arises in the commission be declared through a gazette notice.

A panel is then constituted to select suitable candidates for appointment.

The Act says the chairperson of the panel should be appointed by the President.