Nasa picks David Ndii to take charge of people’s assemblies

Friday December 1 2017

Johnstone Muthama, Boni Khalwale

Former senators Johnstone Muthama and Boni Khalwale addresses the press at Okoa Kenya offices in Nairobi on December 1, 2017. PHOTO | SAMWEL OWINO | NATION MEDIA GROUP  

More by this Author

The opposition National Super Alliance (Nasa) has unveiled a seven-member committee to guide the coalition on the way forward of the People's Assembly.

The committee chaired by economist David Ndii will be responsible for coordinating programmes of all county assemblies that have so far passed the motion of the formation of the People's Assembly.

The team will present its report to the Nasa principals before December 12, a date the opposition leader Raila Odinga said he will be 'sworn in' as the people's president.


Other members of the committee are former nominated Senator Judy Sijeny, Oduor Ong'wen, Dr Mutakha Kangu, Peter Mathuki, Hamida Kibwana and Koitamet Olekina.

During an address to the press at Okoa Kenya offices in Nairobi on Friday, former senators Johnstone Muthama and Boni Khalwale said the majority of Kenyans did not vote in the October 26 repeat presidential election and, therefore, President Uhuru Kenyatta does not have the mandate of majority of Kenyans.

"Kenyans have been asking us about the way forward after the election, today we have unveiled a committee that will continue to update the people on the way forward," said Mr Muthama.

The committee, eh said, will also provide a list of activities for December 12 when the coalition plans to swear in Mr Odinga.

Mr Khalwale condemned police killings, saying Kenyans have continued to suffer police brutality under a regime that does not have the mandate of majority in the country.

The opposition said they would continue with the activities of the People's Assembly despite an earlier court order issued in Kitui barring County Assemblies from discussing the motion.

"That court was not constitutional and was pushed by busy bodies," Khalwale said.

He said so far 15 counties have passed the motion and others will follow soon.