alexa Winners and losers in Mt Kenya Jubilee primaries - Daily Nation

Winners and losers in Mt Kenya Jubilee primaries

Thursday April 27 2017

Embu Governor Martin Wambora

Embu Governor Martin Wambora (left) is handed his interim certificate by the County's Jubilee Party returning officer Kenneth Kamenchu after he won the nomination on April 27, 2017. Mr Wambora secured 60,634 votes against Runyenjes MP Cecily Mbarire’s 43,509. PHOTO | CHARLES WANYORO | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

Two governors retained their seats while most MPs were beaten in the Jubilee Party primaries across Mt Kenya today.

Voters also kicked out a majority of ward and woman representatives.

Embu Governor Martin Wambora will fly the party ticket in the August 8 elections.

Mr Wambora secured 60,634 votes against Runyenjes MP Cecily Mbarire’s 43,509.

He won by a large margin in Runyenjes and Manyatta constituencies, getting 52,291 votes to eclipse Ms Mbarire’s 12,977 in the same region, but lost in Mbeere by managing a paltry 8,343 votes against Ms Mbarire’s 27,532.

In the senator race, former Cabinet minister Njeru Ndwiga garnered 56,305 votes against Mr Geoffrey Ruku Kiringa’s 30,183.


Mr Alexander Mundigi managed 6,630. The woman rep results were not released.

In Nyeri, former Vision 2030 director Wahome Gakuru clinched the Jubilee ticket for governor after soundly beating incumbent Samuel Wamathai.

He got 114,327 votes, Mr Wamathai got 65,492 votes, Mutahi Kagwe (54,348) and Githinji Kinyanjui 10,978 votes.

In the senate race Ephraim Maina got 126,135 votes, Dan Wamahiu (84,000), Wambugu Nyamu (18,952) and Sheila Waruguru (9,504).

In the Woman Rep race Rahab Mukami got 108,990 votes, Priscilla Nyokabi (86,703), Rose Wangui (28,176) and Elizabeth Wamunyu (14,040).

The brother of former governor Nderitu Gachagua — Rigathi — carried the day in Mathira after garnering 29,215 votes while Mr Wambura wa Maranga had 25,737. 

Second-time parliamentary aspirant Cathy Irungu had 623 votes.

In Nyeri Town, former political affairs director in Raila Odinga’s 2013 presidential campaign secretariat Ngunjiri Wambugu carried the day.

Mr Wambugu had 17,517 votes against the incumbent Esther Murugi with 11,143.

Othaya MP Mary Wambui lost to rival Gichuki Mugambi.

Newcomer Mwangi Gichuhi ousted National Assembly Defence and Foreign Relations Committee chairperson Ndung’u Gethenji in the nomination for Tetu Constituency.

Lawyer Anthony Gathiaka Kiai ousted Mukurwe-ini MP Kabando wa Kabando.


In Murang’a, Governor Mwangi wa Iria was on course to victory after taking an early lead against Kigumo MP Jamleck Kamau.

Woman Rep Sabina Chege was leading former radio presenter Waithira Muithirania.

Three Murang’a MPs were shown the door. Only one — Kandara lawmaker Alice Wahome — sailed through.

She garnered 27,175 votes against Mr Maina Kamau’s 18,406.

Mathioya MP Clement Wambugu got 7,664 votes while his opponent Peter Kimani had 21,537.

Mr Wambugu got into parliament in 2007. His loss effectively means the third term dream has evaporated.

Kangema MP Tiras Ngahu, a close ally of Governor wa Iria, came third.

In Tharaka-Nithi County, Chuka/Igambang’ombe MP Muthomi Njuki has won the Jubilee ticket for governor after garnering 77,947 votes ahead of former Nithi MP Petkay Miriti who had 20,734.

After being given the Jubilee certificate at Kajiampau Youth Polytechnic, Mr Njuki asked his competitors to remain in Jubilee and support him, promising that the party would reward them.

Meru Woman Rep Florence Kajuju was declared the winner in a process that her opponent Kawira Mwangaza said was flawed.

In Isiolo, Woman Rep Tiyah Galgalo conceded defeat in the Jubilee primaries.

Ms Galgalo said she would not defend her seat in August, adding that she would not defect to another party.

She lost to the former Kenya Industrial Estates chairperson Rehema Dida Jaldesa who garnered 18,361 votes. Ms Galgalo had 10,831.

Ms Dida will battle it out with PNU’s Betsy Mburugu in August.