Three voters seek IEBC officials’ removal from office

Friday September 01 2017

From left: IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati with commissioners Margaret Mwachanya and Roselyn Akombe addressing journalists at Anniversary Towers in Nairobi on September 1, 2017. PHOTO | EVANS HABIL | NATION MEDIA GROUP


Three voters have filed an urgent petition seeking to stop the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chief executive Ezra Chiloba and commissioners from overseeing the repeat presidential election.

Mr Brian Asin, Mr Ben Wanasakaami, and Mr Kevin Alwang’a have in their urgent petition filed on Friday, urged the High Court to bar the IEBC officials from holding the repeat elections as directed by the Supreme Court.

They argue that the integrity of the IEBC officials to hold credible elections is in question.

They have sued Mr Chiloba, Mr Wafula Chebukati (chairman), Ms Consolata Nkatha (vice chairman), and Commissioners Roselyn Akombe, Prof Abdi Guliye, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and Boya Molu.

The application will be heard next week.

The Supreme Court on Friday nullified the election of President Uhuru Kenyatta on grounds that the elections were not conducted in accordance to the Constitution and the applicable principles.