alexa Kogo shines in France as Kenyans headed for Luanda - Daily Nation

Kogo shines in France as Kenyans headed for Luanda

Monday December 29 2008


Kenya’s 10,000m Olympic bronze medallist, Micah Kogo, claimed won the 37th Houilles Corrida, defeating countryman Edwin Soi (5,000m bronze medallist in Beijing) and marathon Olympic silver medallist Jauad Gharib of Morocco in the process.

Kogo clocked 28 minutes and four seconds for the 10km race win as Soi crossed the line nine seconds later (28:13), according to EME Athletics News.

Gharib finished in 28:54 ahead of Kenyan born-Frenchman James Theuri (29:02) and El Hassan Lahssini (29:05).

Kenya’s Sylvia Kibet, fourth of the 5,000m in Beijing, was the undisputed winner in the women’s race, clocking 31:50 ahead of French-woman Christelle Daunay (33:03) and Samira Mezeghrane (33:59).

Olympic steeplechase silver medallist Mahiedine Mekhissi Benabbad withdrew from the event due to gastroenteritis.


Elsewhere, Kenyan runners Elijah Nyabuti and Grace Momanyi are set to defend their crown at the 53rd edition “Sao Silvestre corrida” race to be held in Angola’s capital on Wednesday.

Other leading names in the men’s race are Zambia’s Tony Wamulwa, George Majaji of Zimbabwe, Melaku Derese and Nasir Abdissa of Ethiopia and Paulo Guerra of Portugal.

In the women’s event Momanyi will face fellow countrywomen Margaret Okayo, Angelina Mutuku, Pauline Chepchumba, Beatrice Omwanza, Ethiopia’s Daska Mamitu and leading Zimbabwean runners Samukeliso Moyo and Sharon Tavengwa.

Readjusted route

The winners in both categories will get $10,000 (Sh770,000) each, and those in the subsequent positions will receive $8,000, $6,000, $4,000 and $3,000 respectively.

The organising committee had readjusted the 14,2km route to a 15km to obey international standards, ANGOP informs.

Meanwhile, Californian magazine Track and Field News published on its website the leaders of the 62nd edition of their World Rankings.

Ranked number one and not Olympic gold medalists are Kerron Clement at 400m hurdles and Yevgeniy Lukyanenko in pole vault.

In the women’s section Sanya Richards is number one at 400m, Maryam Jamal at 1,500m, Lolo Jones at 100m Hurdles, Irina Mikitenko in marathon, Blanka Vlasic in High Jump and Tatyana Lebedeva in Triple Jump in non-olympic winners department.