alexa Korikwang, Komon get wild card entries - Daily Nation

Korikwang, Komon get wild card entries

Saturday February 21 2009


World cross country senior men silver medallist Leonard Patrick Komon and Pauline Korikwiang, a junior champion in Fukuoka in 2006, have wild card entries to the 24 member Kenya team to this year’s championship.

Komon and Korikwiang were favoured to do well but both developed painful stitches in the penultimate lap of their respective races.

Komon 39:47 was a distant 20th having dropped from fourth by the 10km mark in while Korikwiang was 14th in 29:55.4.

“I have new hope after being considered on wild card. I want to win the gold, I will train hard to attain this target,” said Korikwiang.

Other top runners who flopped were Olympic 1,500m silver medallist Asbel Kiprop, Vincent Kiprop, a silver medallist in Mombasa in the junior 8km race in 2007, Eliud Kipchoge, the Olympic silver medallist in 5,000, Edwin Soi also a bronze medallist in 5,000 in Beijing, Barnabas Kosgei and Josephat Bett, the world junior 10,000m champion.

The team:


12km men - Moses Mosop, Mathew Kisorio, Mark Kiptoo, Linus Chumba, Mangata Ndiwa, Leonard Komon.

8km men - John Kemboi, Paul Tanui, Japhet Korir, John Chepkwony, Titus Mbishei, Charles Bett Chepkurui.

8km women - Florence Kiplagat, Iness Chenonge, Linet Masai, Linet Chepkurui, Ann Karindi, Pauline Korikwiang.

6km women - Mercy Cherono, Hilda Chepkemoi, Jackline Chepngeno, Jackline Chebii, Faith Chepngetich, Nelly Chebet.