Desisa dethrones Kamworor in New York

Sunday November 04 2018

Lelisa Desisa of Ethipoia crosses the finish line to win the Men's Division during the 2018 TCS New York City Marathon in New York on November 4, 2018. PHOTO | TIMOTHY CLARY |


Ethiopia's Lelisa Desisa is the 2018 men's New York Marathon champion.

Desisa clocked 2:05:59 to finish top ahead of compatriot Shura Kitata who clocked 2:06:01. Kenya's Geoffrey Kamworor came third in 2:06:26.

Ethiopia’s Lelisa Desisa edged out defending champion Kamworor in the last two kilometres to win this year’s New York City Marathon.

Desisa, the winner of the 2013 and 2015 Boston Marathon, and Kamworor, the World Half Marathon champion, went neck-to-neck with four kilometres to go.

However, Desisa, who finished second in 2014 before settling third in 2015 and last year respectively, went for the kill at the 40km, dropping Kamworor to clock the second fastest time of the course of 2 hours, 05 minutes 59 seconds.

Desisa missed Kenya Geoffrey Mutai’s course record by 54 seconds. Mutai won in 2011 with a course record time of 2:05:05.


Kamworor, who seem to have put in his all, would be overtaken by another Ethiopian Kitata, who finished second at this year’s London Marathon.


Shura Kitata (left) of Ethiopia and Geoffrey Kamworor of Kenya lead the Professional Men's Division during the 2018 TCS New York City Marathon in New York City on November 4, 2018. PHOTO | SARAH STIER |

Kitata then engaged Desisa in a thrilling sprint chase but his compatriot proved supreme as Kitata took the second place in 2:06:01 while Kamworor snatched the last podium place in 2:06:26.

Tamirat Tola from Ethiopian came in fourth in 2:08:30 as the 2017 London Marathon champion Daniel Wanjiru from Kenya romped home fifth in 2:10:21.

Kamworor, Tola, Kitata and Desisa hit the 35km in a group in 1:45:19 with another Kenyan Festus Talam in pursuit 52 seconds behind.  Kitata and Tola wilted as they approached the 40km mark.

Kamworor and Desisa crossed 40km  in 1:55:43 with Kitata 10 seconds off the pace.

Men’s Elite

1. Lelisa Desisa (ETH) — 2:05:59

2. Shura Kitata (ETH) — 2:06:01

3. Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN) — 2:06:26

4. Tamirat Tola (ETH) — 2:08:30

5. Daniel Wanjiru (KRN) — 2:10:21

6. Jared Ward (USA) — 2:12 24

7. Scott Fauble (USA) — 2:12:28

8. Festus Talam (KEN) — 2:12:40

9. Shadrack Biwott (USA) — 2:12:52

10. Chris Derrick (USA) — 2:13:08

18. Bernard Lagat (USA) — 2:17:20