alexa Jerotich in team to Daegu as AK makes changes - Daily Nation

Jerotich in team to Daegu as AK makes changes

Tuesday August 2 2011

By AYUMBA AYODI [email protected]

Athletics Kenya has made changes to its teams for the World Championships in Athletics to be held in Daegu, South Korea, this month and next month’s All Africa Games in September in Maputo.

Injured Rotterdam Marathon champion Philis Ongori Moraa has been replaced by 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games champion, Irene Jerotich Kosgei in the women’s marathon team for the World Championships.

The 28-year-old Kosgei, who is the first Kenyan woman to win the Club Games marathon title, will now join the women’s team of five out to recapture the title that Catherine Dereba won for Kenya in 2007 in Osaka.

Maiden win

Kosgei’s maiden victory over the distance was at the 2006 Nairobi Marathon and claimed victory again in Delhi in a course record and Personal Best time of 2:28:47.

Her rise has been gradual, with wins in a 15km race in Baringo in 2005 before her first major in the Tiberias Marathon in 2010.

Kosgei joins New York City Marathon winner Edna Kiplagat, Sharon Cherop who finished third in Boston, Paris Marathon champion Prisca Jeptoo and fourth place Boston Marathon finisher, Caroline Rotich.

AK Public Relations Officer Peter Angwenyi said Kenya would remain with only two contestants in walking race at the Worlds after Emily Ngii and Josephat Sirma were forced out by the latest IAAF rules.

Angwenyi said there were only two judges during the national trials yet the IAAF rules require a minimum of three international or area judges on the course.

Kenya now remains with three-time Africa and Delhi Commonwealth bronze medallist Grace Wanjiru and David Kimutai, the 1999 All Africa Games and 2006 Africa Championships gold medallist.

Wanjiru and Kimutai qualified during the Africa Athletics Championships held last year in Nairobi, where Wanjiru retained the title and Kimutai settled for silver.

Consequently, Ngii and Sirma now drop to the All Africa Games team where they will replace Rebecca Cheptum and Daniel Basoroi respectively.

“Basoroi and Cheptum will unfortunately stay out,” said Angwenyi.

Meanwhile, national 110m hurdles champion Amos Chepsongol has been included in the Maputo-bound team and will do the battle alongside Emmanuel Kimeu.

Chepsongol, with a Personal Best time of 14.7 seconds, will also double in the 4x100 relay in Maputo, replacing Simon Kimaru, who has been axed.