Mwetich, Chepkemoi rule Kisumu marathon

Wednesday March 18 2020

Silas Mng'etich crosses the finish line to win the men's 42km race during the Safaricom Kisumu City Marathon on December 16, 2018 at the Jomo Kenyatta Sports grounds. PHOTO | TONNY OMONDI |

By VICTOR OTIENO            

Silas Mwetich of West Pokot and Uasin Gishu's Maureen Chepkemoi are the 2018 men and women winners of the Safaricom Kisumu City Marathon.

The two athletes, both 21 braved the Sunday's morning heat in the lakeside city to defeat about 400 other runners, who had turned up at the Jomo Kenyatta Sports ground for the 12th edition of the event.

The men's event was closely contested. Mwetich, the 2018 KASS marathon medallist, broke from the leading pack of three just a few meters from the tape, to win in 2hours, 16 minutes and 50 seconds.

He beat William Cheboi by five seconds, while Abraham Too came third in 2:17:37.

"The heat was too much making the race difficult. I broke from the rest after covering about 40km. I am very happy with the win because we have been training very hard with my coach," said the youthful Mwetich.

In the women's category, Chepkemoi a fourth place finisher in this year's Safaricom Eldoret marathon, crossed the finish line first in 2hours, 35 minutes and 35 seconds.

She beat Paulin Mutwa of Administration Police, who timed 2:41:20 to finish second, while Sellah Jepkoech came third in 2:41:44.

"Next year I am planning to participate in several other races to sharpen my skills so that in future I represent Kenya in bigger competition,” she said.

In last year’s race, Trans Nzoia’s Elkana Yegon won the men’s event in 2:18:58, while Diana Chepkemoi of Kericho triumphed in the women’s run in 2:51:34.

This year’s 10km men's category was scooped by Walter Kororia of Mount Elgon, after he cut the tape in 29:31, ahead of Peter Kipkorir and Francis Cheruyot, who emerged second and third in 30:21 seconds and 31:04 seconds respectively.

Lewnida Agatha, 51, had no match in the women's event as she defended her title, but in a slower time of 39:11.

In last year's race, the Migori-based runner won in 38:37.

Newcomers Tanui Miriam Chelagat of Siaya County and Jane Njeri Gicuki of Nakuru County came second and third in 42:42 and 44:38 respectively.



1.Silas Mwetich 2:16:50

2.William Cheboi 2:16:55

3.Abraham Too 2:17:37

4.Henry Kosgei 2:18:05

5.Sammy Nyokaye 2:19:48

6.Kenneth Kibett 2:20:05

7.Lawrence Rotich 2:20:16

8.Sammy Kipyego 2:20:25

9.Edwin Kemboi 2:20:29

10.Isaac Kimitai 2:20:32


1.Maurine Chepkemoi 2:35:35

2.Paulin Mutwa 2:41:20

3.Shellah Jepkoech 2:41:44

4: Rose Chepchumba 2:45:29

5. Gladis Kiprotich 2:47:39

6.Philis Ongori 2:49:03

7.Celestine Chepchirchir 2:51:04

8.Rebecca Korir 2:54:20

9.Emilly Jepkoech 2:56:21

10: Nancy Jepkerui 2:57:30

10km (men)

1. Walter Kororia 29:31 seconds

2. Peter Kipkorir 30:21 seconds

3. Francis Cheruyot 31: 04 seconds

4. Bonface Kimutai 31:08 seconds

5. Launet Mark 31:12 seconds

10km (women)

1. Lewnida Agatha 39:11 seconds

2. Tanui Miriam 42:42 seconds

3. Jane Njeri 44:38 seconds

4.Lucy Adhiambo 50:46 seconds

5. Everline Chetum 51:52 seconds