Zone Six team to be selected at Muthaiga

Wednesday March 19 2014

PHOTO | FILE Robinson Owiti during a past tournament.

PHOTO | FILE Robinson Owiti during a past tournament. NATION MEDIA GROUP

More by this Author

A squad of 10 leading amateur golfers will battle it out in a 72-hole event to select Kenya’s national team for the 2014 Africa Zone Six Championship in Cape Town South Africa next month.

The 36-hole a day duel set for this morning at the par 71 Muthaiga Golf Club course under the close eye of national team coach Anil Shah, is expected to produce five players who will be joined by four juniors.

The 10 players John Karichu (Limuru), Tony Omuli (Golf Park), Robinson Owiti (Vet Lab), Justus Madoya (Great Rift Resort), William Odera (Kericho), Alfred Nandwa (Railway/Njoro), Nelson Simwa (Vet Lab), Steve Karanja (Kiambu), Eric Ooko and Jay Sandhu (Royal) were selected on Tuesday evening during a Kenya Golf Union (KGU) executive committee meeting.

The top five players after friday's second 36 holes will form part of the national team whose other players will come from the junior ranks. This year’s Africa Zone Six Championship will be held from April 14 to 17 at the 6136m long par 72 Devonvale Golf and Wine Estate in Stellenbosch Cape Town South Africa.

KGU chairman Francis Okwara exuded confidence that the final squad will be a strong one. The Union has prioritised Junior Golf Development hence the inclusion of juniors in the squad.

Kenya will try and recapture the Zone Six title it lost to South Africa at Nyali Golf and Country Club Mombasa in April 2011 and failed to defend it in 2012 in Lilongwe Malawi and last year in Windhoek Namibia.

So far, South Africa, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Reunion, Rwanda, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe have been listed to battle it out for Africa’s top amateur team matchplay championship.