ROUND UP: Simon Ndungu claim's Chairman's Prize in Thika

Monday December 3 2018

Richard Kabugi in action at the Nanyuki Chairman's Prize tournament played on December 01, 2018 at Nanyuki Sports Club. PHOTO | COURTESY

Richard Kabugi in action at the Nanyuki Chairman's Prize tournament played on December 01, 2018 at Nanyuki Sports Club. PHOTO | COURTESY 

More by this Author

Thika’s Simon Ndungu posted two over par 40 points to claim overall prize during the Chairman’s Prize at the par 72 Thika Sports Club course over the weekend.

Playing off handicap six, Ndungu picked up birdies on the first, third and seventh with a bogey in between (fifth), dropped a shot at the 11th, followed that with a double at the 12th, recovered one at the 16th but dropped two shots at the 17th for four over par at the back nine, to beat men winner Sammy Njayakio and Mugo Kirika by one point.

In the ladies section, Linda Kinyua combined 17 and 20 to win ahead of Eunice Muthemba on 33 while Anthony Kiiru was the best guest with 34 points. The nines went to Anthony Gathigi and David Wainaina on 25 and 19 points respectively.

At Kiambu Golf Club, handicap 10 David Kimani carded nett 68 to win the overall Chairman’s Prize sponsored by KenGen and where Peter Gathimba was the men winner on nett 69. In third place was Alex Ngunu with nett 71 after beating Timothy Kihara by one shot. Taking the gross title was Ben Njuguna who carded seven over par 79 gross.

The ladies title went to Lucy Karau on 74 nett, winning on countback from Margaret Nyambura. David Nyamu emerged the best guest with nett 70 while the nine winners were Michael Wanjohi 34.5 nett, and Paul Kaumbutho who carded nett 33.

At Nanyuki, the Chairman’s Prize sponsored by Oxygene MCL was by F.N. Ndegwa who carded 38 points to win by a narrow margin of one point from A. Mwangi, John Mathai and Patrick Karoki. Taking the gross title was Peter Rimui who carded one over par 73 and the nines went to Samuel Gichuru on 21 and Samuel Muchiri on 20 points.

In the ladies section Hellen Kurutu posted 35 points to win by six points from Sue Haworth with Wairimu Thande emerging the guest winner on 35 points.

Daniel Njega posted 33 points to claim the junior title while the going was tough for Ndegwa Gakiria who could only managed 22 points, to win the Best Effort prize.

At Sigona, Vikash Shah carded 40 and 32 for a total of 72 points to claim the overall title during the Captain’s Prize where Ronak Malde beat Amit Sodha on countback to finish second. Calvin Lopez was fourth with a score of 69, one better than Shiv Shah, Chetan Hindocha and Deep Shah.

The ladies overall prize went to Jane Njau on 73, and Muthaiga’s Rajesh Bhabra was the best guest with 65 points, Navin Shah was the best Senior on 64 points and the junior winner was Ali Khimji with 69 points. Leading the past chairmen was Parshu Hirani on 61 points, and James Mbuthia emerged the best past captain on 64 points.

The following are summarised weekend golf round-up;
At Railway; Lady Captain’s Prize Lady Captain;s Prize; Winner Joyce Gikunda 37 points, Silver Winner- Wanjiru Karume 31, Bronze Winner; Jane Ndirangu 33, Men winner- Maina Gachanja 38 points, cb Joe Kehara 38, 3rd A.N. Omooria 37, Lady Guest- Sophie Njenga 32, cb Wambui Nderitu, Men Guest= Kevin Barasa 35, 2nd B. Mungai 32.

At Eldoret; Bayer Round-Up Golf Day; Overall winner Kate Navisino 43 points, 2nd Kipkorir Kiptoo 38, 3rd G.S. Matharu 37 cb Kamal Shah, James Waweru, Lady Winner Faith Mburu. S.K. Sagoo 35, Customer winner- M.G. Mwangi 31, Beatrice Kemboi 29. Nines: K. Tuwei 23, George Njoroge 21.
At Ndumberi; Preshama Feeds Golf Day; Overall winner- Mike Ngene 27, 2nd Mike Karanga 26.
3rd Moses Kiarie 24.Nett winner- Kamau Muhu 36 points, 2nd Julius Kinuthia 35, Guest- John Ngure 25 points.
At Ruiru Sports Club; October Mug winner: Joseph Wahome 65 Nett, Angelus Maina 66,
Lady Winner:Catherine Wambui 74, Mary Kairu 75, Nines; John Kilonzo 32, Jacob Kambo 32 nett. Junior Winner: Gattana Kiiru-104 Gross, Teddy Muriuki 105, Lenny Muragu 110 Gross.